Honor Societies


Phi Theta Kappa is a national honor society. Eligibility for this prestigious organization is based on outstanding academic achievement, and membership is a highly coveted honor that is a valuable addition to the college experience.

Phi Theta Kappa, founded in 1918, is recognized as the official honor society for two-year colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges. Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is a permanent recognition of a student's hard work and academic achievement that offers unique opportunities for scholarships, honor studies, leadership development and civic engagement.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.


Fourteen years ago, Sigma Beta Delta was created as a business honor society for institutions with regional accreditation or its equivalent. Sigma Beta Delta now has over 260 chapters in 46 states. The purpose of the society is to encourage and recognize scholarship and accomplishment among students of business, management and administration in bachelor and master degree programs.

In addition, the society encourages and promotes aspirations towards personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service. Candidates must rank in the upper 20% of their class.

For more information, contact the Admissions Office at 1-800-660-7093

To apply for consideration in Honor Societies, click here.